Tags

, ,

Following a recent accident involving an oven glove on a hot hob – and several unsuspecting fingers left looking as crispy as Mr Trotters Pork Scratchings – I thought it was time to invest in some hand cream.

Now, hand cream has never really been my thing. Despite being thrown the damn tubes every birthday and Christmas, I have always seen the stuff as the booby prize of all beauty products, the equivalent of being given a car hoover from Saks fifth Avenue or somesuch. Nonetheless, my poor wrinkly paws could always do with a moisture kick and especially after such a trauma.

After some carefully conducted research, I shortlisted a few and set out to investigate which hand cream can keep us super smooth this winter.

HAND THERAPY HAND AND NAIL CREAM £0.69

Stocked at Superdrug

Enriched with keratin and pro-vitamin B5, Hand Therapy is an undiscovered gem and an absolute bargain at under 70p. Possessing the most beautiful delicate, sweet smell, I found it not only absorbed quickly and easily, but a little went a long way. Great value if you are looking for a simple, light, day-to-day cream.

 

 

NIVEA HAND AGE DEFYING Q10 PLUS, £4.25

Stocked at Boots

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even I have been vaguely converted to Nivea’s anti wrinkle, age defying offering. This smells fantastic, is thick but surprisingly absorbent and manages to pack it all in for under a fiver! I dare you not to be its newest disciple.

AVEDA HAND RELIEF £13.99

Stocked at Look Fantastic and in Aveda Salons, Spas and stores

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thick, creamy and indulgently, luxurious. However, the pungent, citrusy smell is distracting and whilst it was nice to have something quite so thick, I was left with one of my biggest fears- greasy, oily hands threatening to leave a trail of evidence wherever I had been.

CLARINS HAND AND NAIL TREATMENT CREAM, £17.36

Stocked at Sephora, Selfridges, John Lewis and http://www.clarins.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had the highest hopes for Clarins, it was packed with a whole host of active ingredients and claims to minimise age spots, soften skin and strengthen nails. But despite numerous applications I failed to see any remarkable difference from this frankly quite thin and unmemorable, cream.

